Learning To Crochet!

Not many of you will know but I am a little bit crafty, the good kind of crafty of course.
I have always had an interest in sewing, one which took me to university to study Fashion Design although, it sadly did not last there. However, if you ask me to make cushions or little bits and bobs for the home, I’ll happily do so. Perhaps I should have studied Textiles instead :/

Anyhoo, here I am, post surgery and currently looking to keep my hands busy (no funny business here please!). Seeing this, my boyfriend bought me a lovely book for Christmas all about crocheting! It even came with a really sweet, purple case that has all the needles in which are in different colours so it will be less confusing.

 
I haven’t started yet but am keen to and have been buying supplies! One of the first things I’d like to make is a cafetiere cosy! I’ve never come across one and I just think it sounds brilliant, plus I can make it for my parents.
I’ve only purchased 5 balls of yarn,  three of which are glittery and came from pound land as they are three for two! I’m not sure about the quality but I think they will be great for starting with and they’re glittery!!!
Has anyone else just started crocheting?! I’d love to see or hear about your creations!

 

10 thoughts on “Learning To Crochet!

  1. bellecitadel says:

    Good for you! I started last year when I was pregnant with my little one and have really enjoyed it. The hardest thing I remember was figuring out where exactly to put the hook, especially after turning. I can definitely recommend watching a few YouTube videos for that as it’s a lot clearer than those crazy pictures in a book. Good luck with it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      • bellecitadel says:

        Hello! Well, to be honest I just googled the term/technique and videos just popped up. But I thought the LionBrand.com and About.com websites were useful resources. Also, I love DK, so I’m sure your book is great, but another book that I found very clear and friendly was Stitch N Bitch: The Happy Hooker :). I just started blogging recently, so haven’t really posted any previous crochet makes, but I did post a cowl I made recently which I enjoyed thoroughly: http://bellecitadel.com/2015/12/24/crochet-casper-mountain-cowl/ Have fun! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • hollyann23 says:

        Thank you so much for the recommendations! Yes, I agree, DK books are fantastic 🙂
        Wow! Your cowl is amazing!!!!!! Very detailed- I hope I can be that good one day! I also love how it’s also a balaclava haha xxxx

        Like

Leave a Reply

