Marilyn Hair Treatment- Lush Review!

Last night, after being in bed with some sort of tummy bug all day, I decided to do a hair mask. One wonders why but the truth was I felt better and wanted to wake up feeling fabulous- perhaps the hair mask would cure me of my bug.

I’d had two sample pots of Lush’s Marilyn lying in my basket in the bathroom for months. I actually think I got them in August. Yep, I tend to forget about sample pots. In fact, yesterday, I’d had enough and managed to use about eight of them up (I also decanted some into other pots).

I’d heard good things about Marilyn, how it was great for blonde hair. Now, my hair isn’t really blonde. Well, it’s a dark blonde/light brown. It used to be beautifully blonde in 2014 but then my hair fell out and now I’m just rocking my natural colour with teeny strands of the old blonde here and there. I had loved my blonde hair and wanted to see if this would make it any lighter.

Let’s start with the feel and smell (I’m not going to talk about pricing or packaging as this was a sample). So, it’s quite a runny consistency. I always using H’Suan Wen Hua which is very thick so this took me by surprise. I did think that this may make it easier to cover my hair but I actually found that it didn’t get very far- perhaps I should have asked for more samples. It didn’t feel heavy on my head though as I waited for twenty minutes which was great! It sounds silly but some of you may know what I mean?

Now, the smell was lovely. I didn’t find myself wishing the time away so I could wash the smell away but then, she do you ever with Lush? I have to say though, that I wasn’t overjoyed with the smell. Not like with H’Suan Wen Hua- I actually want to eat my hair when that’s on!

When it did come to washing it off, I decided to use up another sample pot- this time it was a sample of the Rehab shampoo. This is really similar in consistency to Marilyn and I was really happy with how it reacted with my hair! I had tried this a few months ago but I didn’t really rate it, perhaps I just needed thicker hair though.

Anyway, this morning my hair is super soft. It doesn’t feel thicker or look blonder (perhaps you have to use this over a longer period of time?!) but it is a lot softer. Then again, it could have been the shampoo.

I don’t think I would purchase this yet. When I’ve started dying my hair blonde again I’ll probably try it again but I think for now I’ll stick with H’Suan Wen Hua.

Has anyone tried Marilyn? What are your thoughts?

xxx

3 thoughts on “Marilyn Hair Treatment- Lush Review!

  1. ladybugmusing says:

    I’m hearing all these wonderful things about Lush … is it as awesome as it sounds? How long has your hair been growing in now? And how long did it take after you were finished chemo for it to grow, if you don’t mind my asking?

    Liked by 1 person

    • hollyann23 says:

      I personally think it is but I don’t think that every product is incredible so it’s definitely each to their own with it. I started losing my hair last January and it’s a lot thicker now. It probably stopped falling out in April but I used Lush to help it feel more thicker as well as to try and grow it. I wanted to nourish it too and keep it looking fab even though it was so thin. I don’t mind you asking at all! I actually didn’t lose it due to chemo though, I lost it after suffering from an illness called DRESS Syndrome which is a drug reaction and it made me very, very poorly and we think I lost my hair because my body had suffered and was a little traumatised! Then I had my diagnosis of kidney cancer a few months later but weirdly enough chemo doesn’t work on kidney cancer apparently.
      I did start to use the New bar from Lush to help it to grow and I did find that really helped. I used a light conditioner too called Veganese so it wouldn’t look greasy. I found that was the best, that or Happy Happy Joy Joy. Then I used H’Suan Wen Hua to make it feel more glamourous. When it started to return I used heavier shampoos and conditioners like Blousey and Retread. I had tried the shampoos that give you more volume like Jersey Bounce and Big but found that they didn’t really do much and it was only in November when I saw a massive difference with them.
      I really hoped this has helped you in some way! Xxxx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

